I describe myself as…

Mari & Isabella

Isabella, 17, on what it means to her to be mixed-race:
I’ve decided that neither my parents nor others will define me. I will define and describe myself. I see myself as tanned rather than either black or white. My mother is white and from Portland, Oregon (USA) and my father is Jamaican with Asian blood and born in England. Even the government tries to define me with the tick boxes they give you on forms asking what race you are. It’s irritating and pointless to me, but I answer anyway to make them happy – with mixed white and black Caribbean.
Britain is a multicultural country, which I think is great. I am not the only person of mixed-race at school. Several of my friends I hang out with are mixed. I have never felt excluded because of my skin colour from my friends, family or anyone else. I hope I never will.”

Leave a Reply

